Seniors Selected as Candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program

February 20, 2024

Three St. Johnsbury Academy seniors have been selected as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program. Aidan Brody of Lower Waterford, Maaike Dam of Lyndonville, and Greer Kennedy of St. Johnsbury have been chosen based on their ACT Assessment or College Board SAT performance.


The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize and honor some of our Nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was expanded to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional visual, creative, and performing arts talent. In 2015, the program was expanded again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. U.S. Presidential Scholars receive one of the Nation’s highest honors for high school students, representing excellence in education and the promise of greatness in young people. In honoring the U.S. Presidential Scholars, the President of the United States symbolically honors all graduating high school seniors of high potential.


Headmaster Sharon Howell said, “These are three of our most accomplished and well-rounded students—they are scholars, athletes, musicians, artists, student leaders, participants in service, and dedicated members of the Academy community. We couldn’t be prouder of their selection for this signal honor.”


In April, the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars will review the applications of the approximately 600 semifinalists, applying the same criteria used by the review committee. The Commission selects up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars each year. Since 1964, this unique federal Program has honored more than 8,000 students who have demonstrated scholarship, leadership, artistic excellence, and selfless service to others.

Related News