Math Students Earn National Honors

Math Students who honors
April 28, 2020

A group of St. Johnsbury Academy freshmen have been named the national champions in the Continental Math League (CML). The CML began in 1980 and offers grade-specific testing to students around the country. The SJA students participated in the Euclidean division, focusing on algebra and geometry.


The SJA team was in third place after the first round, tied for second for rounds two through four and moved into first place in the fifth and final round, edging out Fenwick High School, of Oak Park Illinois by two points. Overall, SJA finished the season with 161 points. Second-place finisher St. Louis University High School, of St. Louis, Missouri finished with 158 points. Hannah Keith (25 points) and Nico Sipples (25) were named as regional student leaders for the year. Other SJA students scoring 20 or more points were Wu Qiu (23), Theodora Montague (22), Quinn Murphy (21), and Nathan Lenzini (20). Other students competing are Noah Choiniere, Hillary Deschamps, Owen McClure, Griffin Kimball, Mazie Burt, Joseph Scott, Olivia Blanchard, and Alan Kennison-Prue.


Teachers Fenjens Kwok, Meagan Boucher, Dan Bosco, and Stephen Badgley worked with the students in seven different classes to prepare them for each 30-minute competition as a problem-solving exercise. There were six questions per round.


Headmaster Tom Lovett said, “Any time someone is deemed “best in the nation” there is reason to celebrate, and when that honor is earned through competition with some of the best students around the country, there is reason for a big celebration! Unfortunately, we can’t do that in person right now, but these students and their teachers should be very proud—as should their families! At a time in American education when mathematical expertise is being promoted and celebrated, our math department gives us all many reasons to cheer. Kudos to all on this latest accomplishment!”


Photo Caption

A group of St. Johnsbury academy freshmen have been named the national champions in the Continental Math League. Front row (l to r): Noah Choiniere, Hillary Deschamps, Quinn Murphy, Hannah Keith, Nico Sipples. Back row: Owen Mclure, Griffin Kimball, Mazie Burt, Theodora Montague, Nathan Lenzini, Joseph Scott, Olivia Blanchard, Alan Kennison-Prue. Missing from the photo are Weston Davis and Wu Qiu.


Related News